JeffreySmithArt


Backyard Tree, the making of a painting
March 15, 2009, 5:18 pm
Filed under: landscape, Plein Air, tree, work in progress | Tags: , , , ,
Backyard Tree, pencil on grey Sennelier paper, 6x9.5", Jeffrey Smith

Backyard Tree, pencil on grey Sennelier paper, 6x9.5", Jeffrey Smith

We just moved into a new house in a fantastic neighborhood. Every morning, when I eat breakfast, I have a great view of this tree across the alley from us.  I think this tree and its crossing branches has such a wonderful shape. I really want to try and complete a painting of  it before the leaves come out for the spring.

The above image is a plein air preparatory drawing for an upcoming painting.  I used a simple pencil and a white pastel pencil to sketch it out in my spiral bound, grey Sennelier pad.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love this tree! How nice to have such a wonderful view for breakfast!! But, you know me and trees… 🙂

Comment by JenniferC

I think a love of trees was required growing up…

Comment by jeffreysmithart

This tree is wonderful! I’m anxious to see it in the larger painting that you have in mind.

Comment by Joanne




Leave a Reply

