JeffreySmithArt


Blue Pot, Orange Begonia
March 11, 2009, 7:40 pm
Filed under: daily painting, floral, Painting, pastel | Tags: , , , , , ,
Blue Pot, Oange Begonia, 9x12", pastel on panel, Jeffrey Smith

Blue Pot, Oange Begonia, 9x12", pastel on panel, Jeffrey Smith

I had a few hours to get into the studio today, and thought this would be a great chance to revisit this wonderful potted begonia.  It has been bringing a touch of spring to my studio for the last few weeks.  I really needed it today.  The high here in Minnesota didn’t reach much above zero, and with the wind, it felt much colder.  I can’t wait for the spring thaw!

This piece was painted on a Jack Richeson pastel panel.  This is a new surface for me.  It doesn’t have quite as much tooth as the Wallis pastel paper does.  That means that it probably wouldn’t hold as many layers of pastel.  I do a lot of layering in my work as I play with color, so this one is important to me.  The panel is on Gator board which is very rigid, and very light weight.  Because of  that, I could see these panels being very useful for plein air landscape work. Lightweight makes it easier when you have to haul everything with you, and due to limited painting time, you probably wouldn’t do as much layering.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have to admit that I dislike begonias intensely – but this has such wonderful colours that I shall ignore that and just enjoy this lovely piece.

Comment by Anita Murphy

I loved the colors of this begonia. They aren’t my favorite, but they do last for several days which is a great thing for flowers in an art studio.

Comment by jeffreysmithart




Leave a Reply

