JeffreySmithArt


Forsythia and Copper Canister, final
March 8, 2009, 7:24 pm
Filed under: floral, Painting, pastel, Still life | Tags: , , , , ,
Forsythia and Copper Canister, 18x24", pastel on Wallis paper, Jeffrey Smith

Forsythia and Copper Canister, 18x24", pastel on Wallis paper, Jeffrey Smith

I do love reaching the end of a painting! I had such a wonderful working on this piece.  I has been far too long a break from pastel this time, and I’m thrilled to be back at it.

To celebrate my last day in the studio with my forsythia painting up on the easel, I put together a little video.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It’s beautiful! I’m starting to work with pastels in my art class, but I doubt I can make anything that pretty. ^^

Comment by raspberr1es

Thank you! How are you liking pastel? It’s all about practice and putting in the time.

Comment by jeffreysmithart

It’s pretty fun, messy/chalky but fun. ^^ Luckily, I have some time before my art assignment is due, so I’ll have time to play around with pastels over the march break. What would you recommend to start working on with pastels? Still life? Scenery?

Thanks. ^^

-.Raspberries.~

Comment by raspberr1es

Still life is great because it doesn’t move on you. I apply Gloves in a Bottle before I work. I helps to protect your hands and you from the pastel, and cuts down on the dry, chalky feeling on your hands.

Comment by jeffreysmithart

Thanks! If I get something done over the march break, I’ll send you a copy of my final. ^^ hehee, though dumping pastel work on a scanner may not be the best idea. XD

-.Raspberries.~

Comment by raspberr1es

Fantastic finish, Jeff. Interesting to see different ways of using pastels. Love the subtelty of the changes in your colours.

Comment by Anita Murphy

Great to see you are back at pastel! It’s wonderful to see your use of color; I am impressed by how you see so many colors in everything. I also enjoyed your first little video, and look forward to seeing more!

Comment by Joanne




Leave a Reply

