JeffreySmithArt


Pine Trio
February 1, 2009, 9:20 pm
Filed under: landscape, pastel | Tags: , , , , ,
Pine Trio, 24x36", pastel on panel, by Jeffrey Smith

Pine Trio, 24x36", pastel on panel, by Jeffrey Smith

The painting above began life quite a bit different from how it looks today.  I painted it in the summer of 2006.  It is painted on a Gatorboard panel  that was prepped with an under-painting of magenta liquid acrylic and a layer of pumice gel, both from Golden.

I took this painting all the way to what I felt was a finish at the time.  I framed it, but was never happy with this piece.    So it just ended up sitting in my studio.  When I moved to my new space last November I pulled it into the “rework pile”.  I recently opened it up, and boldly reworked the entire painting.

I am now thrilled with the finished product.  This painting has a great presence to it.  I think it is largely due to the size of the painting.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh Jeff – this is lovely! Perfect structure – JUST wonderful!

Comment by Anita Murphy

Thanks Anita! I’m SO much happier with the new version!

Comment by jeffreysmithart

Lovely!

What’s sort of ratio of pumice gel to acrylic do you use to get a satisfactory painting surface?

Comment by Katherine

Golden Acrylics makes a great ready to use gel. It has to be thinned with water to reveal enough of the pumice to give the surface some tooth.

The ratio that I us for adding pumice to acrylic gel medium, is 1 part fine pumice to 5 part matte acrylic gel medium.

Comment by jeffreysmithart




Leave a Reply

