JeffreySmithArt


Studio prep day…making panels.
August 30, 2008, 4:26 pm
Filed under: Painting, supplies | Tags: , , , , ,

I spent the better part of the day today making panels.  I really enjoy the process of making painting panels; starting with just a blank piece of wood, and ending with something worth painting on.  It does, however, get kinda messy. 

I start by sand each raw panel to rough up the surface.  I use Masonite, cut to the desired size.  I then apply 3 coats of acrylic gesso, giving the panel a 90 degree turn with each coat.  If I want a smoother panel, I sand slightly between coats. 

It is also important to cover the edges of the painting panel.  I seal the back of each panel with acrylic gel medium.

I’ve also tried making a couple panels using Gamblin Traditional Gesso.  I’ve painted on a traditional gesso surface before, and really enjoyed it.  It absorbs some of the paint, which is a very unique feeling when working with oil paint. 

I was at a condo open house in downtown Minneapolis the other day, and saw piece of art hanging on the wall in the model.  I got a great idea for a new paint surface.  I don’t want to give it away before I have the prototype built…..your just going to have to wait on this one.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] painting is a new format for me.  I thought it worked well with the subject matter.  The panel that it is painted on, is one the I created myself.  ▶ Comment /* 0) { jQuery(‘#comments’).show(”, change_location()); jQuery(‘#showcomments […]

Pingback by Asparagus « JeffreySmithArt




Leave a Reply

